About the Series

Fushigi Yuugi (ふしぎ 遊戯, lit. means Mysterious Play or Curious Play) is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Yuu Watase. The series became very popular and was later adapted into a 52 episode anime series by Studio Pierrot. It was originally aired from April 6, 1995, through March 28, 1996, on the anime satellite channel Animax and the regular cable channel TV Tokyo.


The plot revolves around fifteen-year-old Miaka Yuuki, a typical high school girl whose main concerns are boys, food, and shopping. Living with her single mom and brother, Miaka attends junior high school, barely passing her classes and being constantly reprimanded by her best friend and resident genius Yui Hongo.

When Yui goes to the library one afternoon, Miaka tags along. In the restricted room of the library, the two girls come across a book titled, "The Universe of the Four Gods." They begin to read it, and magically they are sucked into ancient China. Eventually, Yui is able to leave the book, leaving Miaka alone in a strange world with a greedy stranger known only as Tamahome.

"This is the story of a girl who single-handedly gathered the Seven Stars of Suzaku and gained the power to make all of her dreams come true. The story itself is an incantation and whomever reads it gains the main character's power to have their wishes granted. As soon as the page is turned, the story will become real and begin."

Miaka is then taken to the emperor of the empire she landed in and is told that she is the savior they've been waiting for, the Priestess of Suzaku who will summon the Beast God and save Konan. As it turns out, each Priestess has seven warriors that were born to protect her, Tamahome, and the Emperor Hotohori, being two of them. Now Miaka must embark on a quest to find the remaining warriors and then she can save the world.